MID YEAR BOOK FREAK OUT TAG

MID YEAR BOOK FREAK OUT TAG 2016

So this tag, created by ReadLikeWildfire and Ely Jayne, has been going all around Booktube for the past couple of months. Although technically we’re already past ‘mid year’, I thought it would be fun to do this tag as a first tag on my blog. This tag is also really helpful to structure my thoughts on the books that I’ve read so far and on the ones that  I want to read in the next couple of months.

Let’s get to the questions!

1illuminae. Best book you’ve read so far in 2016.

This is a hard one! I have already so many great books this year. Three honorable mentions are: A Thousand Splendid Suns, Mistborn and Station Eleven.

But the winner is: Illuminae. This book really took me by surprise. I was actually afraid to read it because of the different format, which I did not expect to like. However, the format was very fitting for this book and it is so action packed with wonderful characters!

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2016.

saga 2For this category I only have 3 books to choose from (I’ve read a lot of first books in series and stand-alones). The best sequel that I’ve read is Saga, Vol. 2. . This year was really my first try at graphic novels and I’m enjoying the Saga series so far.

 

 

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.ACOMF

This is a tie between My Lady Jane and A Court of Mist and Fury. I’m picking A Court of Mist and Fury since I’m planning to read it during a read-a-thon this month and because everyone is raving about it.

 

 

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

Based on my answer to the first question you can probably guess this. geminaIt would have to be: GEMINA!

 

 

5. Biggest disappointment.100915

I haven’t read a lot of books yet this year that have let me down. I will have to pick The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. It was just OK, and I expected to love it. I’ve never read the Chronicles of Narnia as a kid, but after reading The Magicians (which prominently features Narnia) I was really excited to read this series. I borrowed the complete collection from my library but only managed to read 2 of the books. It’s just not for me.

6. Biggest surprise.18315788

I have to choose The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass, #0.1-#0.5). The only work by Sarah J. Maas that I’ve read is A Court of Thorns and Roses and I enjoyed that one. But the whole Throne of Glass series seems so hyped up to me that I expected a let down. I bought the novellas because it was on sale. I’m usually not a fan of short stories/novellas, so I didn’t dare set my expectations too high. But this book really took me by surprise. I loved it! I can’t wait to read Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1).

 

7. Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)13138635.jpg

I’ve read plenty of books this year from authors I’ve never read anything by before. But I think it’s only fair if I pick an author that I’ve read multiple books from this year. I pick Amie Kaufman. I loved the writing style of Illuminae and These Broken Stars(Starbound, #1), both co-written by Kaufman.

 

822842001. Newest fictional crush.

This is a tough question for me. I primarily read YA, but the main characters are always several years younger than me. I have fun reading about these characters but I could never be ‘attracted to’/’have a crush on’ someone younger than me, they always strike me as a bit immature. I’ve always had a fictional crush on Severus Snape and Sirius Black from the Harry Potter series. However, re-reading Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3) this year, I just realized what a wonderful character Remus Lupin is: the fun way he teaches his classes and interacts with students, the way he is a father figure to Harry & his loyalty, and the scars are honestly pretty sexy ;-).

 

9. Newest favourite character.

Enzo (the dog) from The Art of Racing in the Rain. 3153910And this is coming from someone with severe Cynophobia/dogphobia.

10. Book that made you cry.

Honestly, the only books that ever made me cry were the last 3 Harry Potter books (HP 5,6 & 7. I just don’t cry easily. The book that came closest to making me feel sad was The Art of Racing in the Rain.

 

11. Book that made you happy.1778908

Stardust. I finished this yesterday and it is just so funny and whimsical. The movie is also great.

 

 

 

12. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

I bought so many gorgeous books, but there is 1 that comes to mind first. I normally just buy the cheapest paperback that I can find, but for this one I picked a more expensive edition because it is stunning: The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I mean, just look at it:

25646020

13. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

I have a short-term TBR for books that I bought this year and have yet to read. Ideally, I would read all of these before the end of the year. However, it’s 64 books, so that’s not happening…

14 Favourite Book Community Member (Blogger, Booktuber and Bookstagrammer)

I’m still really new to the book blogger community, I just started reading blogs. I’ve been watching Booktube videos for a long time though. I’ll just mention some of my favourite Booktube channels that I started watching frequently/subscribed to this year:

Leave a Reply

